Add all your organization's users to a group

This page is for administrators. To manage groups for your own account, visit Google Groups help.


As a Groups administrator, you can add all your organization’s users to a group. This is useful for organization-wide mailing lists and announcements.

Users are added as a single member, called All members in the organization. Members are added or removed automatically as they enter and leave the organization. In addition, you can edit the group’s access settings or delete the group.

If multiple domains are associated with your organization’s managed Google Account, the group includes all users in all your domains.

Only administrators can create organization-wide groups.

Add all organization users to a group

Before you begin: Create the group you want to add all your users to.

  1. Sign in to your Google Admin console.

    Sign in using your administrator account (does not end in @gmail.com).

  2. In the Admin console, go to Menu ""and then"" Directoryand thenGroups.
  3. Click the name of a groupand thenMembers.
  4. Click Add members.
  5. Click Advancedand thencheck the box.

    The Advanced option doesn’t appear for security groups.

  6. Click Add To Group.

After a group becomes an organization-wide group

  • Delete redundant members—Any organization users already in the group still appear as individual members, even though they’re also part of the All members in the organization member. You can delete an individual user’s direct membership in the group, but not their inclusion in the All members in the organization member.

    For details: Remove group members.

  • Prevent spam—To prevent spam from being sent to everyone in your organization, allow only group owners and managers to send messages to organization-wide groups. To designate an owner or manager of an organization-wide group, add the user individually and then assign the role.

    For details: Assign roles.

  • Calendar events—If the group is invited (or already invited) to any Google Calendar events, [your-domain]@allusers.d.calendar.google.com is listed as a guest. Your entire organization can receive invitations to such events.

    For details: Share calendar invites.

  • Audit logs—Admins might also see the allusers address in audit logs and reports.

    For details: Audit logs.

  • Suspended users—Suspended users are included in organization-wide groups, but they don’t receive messages sent to the group while they’re suspended. When the account is no longer suspended, the user will receive group messages.

    For details: Restore suspended accounts.

  • Not listed on user’s account page—You won’t see organization-wide groups in the Groups section of a user's account page.
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?

Need more help?

Sign in for additional support options to quickly solve your issue

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false
true
73010
false
false