Working with remote and in-office colleagues? Learn how to thrive in hybrid work environments.

Get started with Drive

View and update files in Drive

Want to use Google apps at work or school?  Sign up for a Google Workspace trial
""

""

Learn the basics of viewing and updating Drive files.
 

In this section, you learn how to:

Preview and download stored files on the web

""

To take a quick look at a Drive file, right-click it and select Preview.

In the overlay, you can:

  • Scroll down or up in your file.
  • Click Left arrow "" or Right arrow "" to see the previous or next file in Drive.
  • Open your file to edit it.
  • Click Add comment "" to comment on non-Google files.
  • Print your non-Google file.
  • Click Download "" to download your file.
  • Click More "" to share, move, rename a file, and more.


To save a file to access later, download it one of the following ways:

  • From the preview screen, click Download "".
  • From Drive, select a file, click More "", and select Download "".

Preview and download stored files on the web

Open your files

""

On the web

  1. Open Drive.
  2. Double-click the file you want to open.

Open Drive files

On your computer

  1. Click Drive for desktop "".
  2. Click Open Google Drive "".
  3. Double-click the file you want to open.
    • Files created by Docs, Sheets, Slides, or Forms open in your browser.
    • Other files open in their regular applications on your computer.

Update Drive files

""

On the web

To restore an earlier version of a file that wasn't created in Docs, Sheets, or Slides:

  1. Right-click the file and select Manage versions.
  2. Click Upload new version and select a file from your computer.
  3. When the new version is done uploading, click Close.

Versioning Drive files

On your computer

To update a file:

  1. Open your file from Drive for desktop "" on your desktop.
  2. Make your changes.

    They’ll automatically update to Drive on the web.

It works the other way around, too. Changes you make in Drive on the web sync back to your computer. Your files and folders are now up to date everywhere.

Delete your files

""

Removing a file moves it to Trash:

  • If you own the file, moving it to Trash removes it from your My Drive view. The file is permanently deleted after 30 days in the Trash. If you shared the file, those people can still see the file until it's deleted.
  • If you don't own the file (for example, if it's been shared with you), moving it to Trash removes it from your My Drive view, but doesn't delete the file. Only the owner can delete the file.

Note: Removed files you own are moved to Trash in Drive and still count towards your total storage, until you permanently delete them on the web.

On the web

  1. Select the files or folders you want to remove and click Remove "".
  2. (Optional) To delete files permanently, do one of the following:
    • When you’re in Trash, select a file and click Delete forever.
    • To permanently delete all your Trash files, click Trash and select Empty trash.

Delete items from Drive

On your computer

Just select the files or folders you want to remove and delete them as you would any other file on your computer.

Restore deleted files

""

If you change your mind after deleting a file or folder, you can restore it to Drive. Whether you delete it from Drive on the web or from your computer in Drive for desktop, you restore it the same way.

On the web

  1. Open Drive.
  2. Click Trash "".
  3. Select the files you want to restore and click Restore "".

Restore deleted Drive items

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
true
Get help from Small Business Advisors

Want to receive one-on-one guidance and tailored recommendations on how to make the most out of your Business Profile? Try booking an appointment with Small Business Advisors.


Important: This service cannot troubleshoot issues, including Business Profile verification or suspension, or Google Ads billing.

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false
false
false