Working with remote and in-office colleagues? Learn how to thrive in hybrid work environments.

Get started with shared drives

Set up a shared drive

Want to get more out of Google apps at work or school?  Sign up for a free Google Workspace trial
You can use this feature only if your organization supports it. For help, contact your administrator.
""

" "
 

Start by setting up a shared drive and adding members.

In this section, you learn how to:

Create a shared drive ""

Shared drives are only available for work or school accounts, and you’re not currently signed in. 

Sign in to your work or school account

  1. Open Google Drive.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives.

    Shared drives are available only if your organization supports them. For help, contact your administrator.

  3. At the top, click New"".
  4. Enter a name and click Create.

Create a shared drive

Add members and set access levels

""

You can add people with a Google account as members of a shared drive. New members are given Content manager access, but you can change a member's access level.

Note: Give members who need to edit files in Google Drive for desktop Content manager access.

Permission Manager Content manager Contributor Commenter Viewer
Can view files and folders
Can comment on files  
Can edit files    
Can create and add files, can create folders    
Can add and remove people and groups on specific files    
Can restore files from the Trash (up to 30 days)    
Can move files from My Drive to a shared drive    
Can move files and folders to the Trash      
Can move files and folders within a shared drive      
Can add or remove people and groups on specific folders in a shared drive        
Can move files from one shared drive to another shared drive        
Can add or remove members of a shared drive        
Can change member access levels        
Can permanently delete files in the Trash        
Can rename or change theme        
Can delete the shared drive        

Add members and set access levels:

Requires Manager access

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Shared drives and click a shared drive you are a member of.
  3. At the top, click Manage members.
  4. Add names, email addresses, or a Google Group.

    New members must have a Google account. By default, new members are Content managers. They can upload, edit, move, or delete all files.

  5. To change:
    • Permissions for a new member, click the Down arrow Down arrow and choose an option.
    • Whether new members get notified, click Notify people.
  6. Click Send.

Add members to a team drive

Change member access levels""

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow ""and thenManage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow "" and select a new access level.
  4. Click Done.

Set access levels for members

Remove members

""

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow ""and thenManage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow "" and select Remove member.
  4. Click Done.

Note: If you remove someone from a shared drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with everyone in your organization by link or through a group.

Remove members

Back to top ""


Google, Google Workspace, and related marks and logos are trademarks of Google LLC. All other company and product names are trademarks of the companies with which they are associated.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false