From a manager account, you can complete bulk actions (for example, bulk edits, copy/paste, scripts, uploads, and rules), updating multiple accounts below yours with a single action. This article covers how things work when you take bulk actions for other accounts from your manager account—who “owns” that bulk action you take, and who can see the history of those bulk actions.
Note: If you have a top-level manager account with multiple sub-manager accounts with various client accounts, bulk actions owned by the top-level manager will be visible to that account only, and not to any sub-manager or client accounts.
Bulk action ownership
If your account is the owner of a bulk action, it means that only your account, or a manager account above yours in the hierarchy, can see the bulk action history listed on your “All Bulk actions” page. In addition, if the action involves rules or scripts, it means that only your account, or a manager account above yours, can modify those rules or scripts after you create them.
In general, whenever you take a bulk action, the account you’re directly signed into will by default be considered the owner of that bulk action. You can tell which account is the one you’re signed into by looking at the top right corner of your Google Ads account. So if you’re signed in to a manager account, then drill down to another sub-manager or client account and complete a bulk action for that account, your manager account will still be the owner of that bulk action.
What’s visible on “All bulk actions”
On your own account’s “All bulk actions page”
When you sign into your manager account, you can see on your “All bulk actions page” all actions you’ve completed for your own account (that is, all actions owned by your account). as well as all other accounts beneath it in the hierarchy. You’ll see your account name under the “Owned by” column.
But if any manager account above you in the hierarchy completed bulk actions for your account, you won’t see those bulk actions listed on the “All bulk actions” page for your own account. You won’t, in other words, see any bulk actions owned by manager accounts above you in the hierarchy.
This same principle will apply for users signed into client accounts. These users will only see bulk actions completed (or owned) by their own account, but they won’t see any bulk actions completed in their account by other owners (managers) above them.
“All bulk actions” page for accounts under you
You’ll see the following on the "All bulk actions" page:
- Bulk actions owned by the manager account you’re signed in to
- Bulk actions owned by the account you’ve drilled in to
- Bulk actions owned by any account in the hierarchy beneath the manager account you’re signed into and the account
- you’re drilled in to
- Bulk actions owned by any accounts beneath the account you’re drilled in to
The “Owned by” column will show exactly who owns which bulk action.
Let’s say you log into your manager account (MCC A), then drill down to a client account (Client B), and use bulk edit to pause some campaigns in that account. Your manager account, MCC A, is considered the owner of that bulk edit.
If you drill down and go to Client B’s “All bulk actions” page, you’ll see this bulk action listed, with your MCC account A as the owner. In addition, you’ll see other bulk actions completed for Client B, like bulk actions completed by users logged directly into Client B, or actions completed by Client B’s other sub-managers—sub-managers that are above Client B, but below your manager account, MCC A, in the hierarchy.
Visibility in “Change history”
All users will be able to see campaign changes made by bulk actions in their “Change history” page, no matter who owns those bulk actions. If the changes were made via bulk actions owned by accounts higher in the hierarchy, the “User Date/Time” column for those changes will show the manager account user who actually made the changes.