I’m in groups I didn’t join

You can stop people from adding you to groups you didn’t ask to join by turning off specific settings.  

Stop people from directly adding you to a group

If the Add me to their groups setting is on, a group manager can add you to a group without your permission. 

If this setting is off, managers may send you an invitation to join their group, but they can’t add you directly without your permission. 

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. At the top right, click Settings ""and thenGlobal settings.
  3. Uncheck Add me to their groups.
  4. Click Save.

Tip: Turn this setting off to avoid spam groups or unrecognized groups.

Don’t allow group invitations

If the Invite me to their groups setting is off, group managers can’t send you invitations to join their groups. 

If Add me to their groups is on when Invite me to their groups is off, then group managers can still add you to their groups directly. In that case, you don’t get an invitation, but you’re still added to the group.

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. At the top right, click Settings ""and thenGlobal settings.
  3. Uncheck Invite me to their groups.
  4. Click Save.

Related topics

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false
true
50
false
false