Stay on top of the new way to organize a space. Learn more about in-line threading.

Learn about your role as a Space Manager

When you use Google Spaces, the creator automatically becomes the Space Manager who can: 

  • Remove and add participants.
  • Assign or remove the Space Manager.
  • Delete a space.
  • Delete messages.
  • Edit the space description.
  • Update space access from Restricted to discoverable or vice versa.

Space Managers have a diamond  next to their name in the message stream and in the member list of the space.

Add participants

  1. ​Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. ​On the left, select the space.
  3. Click the Space name and then More options ""and then Add people & bots.
  4. Enter the name or email of the person or group you want to add.
  5. Click Send.

Remove participants

  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space.
  3. Choose an option:
    1. At the top, click the Space name.
    2. At the top right of the conversation, click More ""and then View members "".
  4. Point to the person and click More ""and then Remove from Space.

Assign the role Space Manager to a member

  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space.
  3. Choose an option:
    1. At the top, click the space name.
    2. At the top right of the conversation, click More ""and then View members "".
  4. Point to the person and click More ""and then  Make Space Manager

Remove the role Space Manager from a member

  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space.
  3. Choose an option:
    1. At the top, click the Space name.
    2. At the top right of the conversation, click More ""And then View members "".
  4. Point to the person and click More ""And then  Change from Space Manager to Member.  

Delete messages

Space Managers can delete any message in a space. Space members can only delete their own messages. Learn how to delete a message as a space member.
  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space.
  3. Point to the message you want to delete.
  4. Click More actions and then Delete Delete.
  5. In the window that opens, click Delete.
Important:
  • When a message is deleted in a space, a time stamp may appear. The time stamp remains for 30 days or longer based on the retention policy of your company.
    • The “Delete messages” feature is currently excluded from spaces grouped by topic. This feature is also only available to specific subscriptions and might not be available on your work or school account

Edit space descriptions guidelines

When spaces are created, a description may also be created. Space Managers can add or edit the Space description so others know its purpose. To manage members’ expectations and create a safer community experience, you can add or edit guidelines.
  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space.
  3. At the top, next to the space name, click the Down arrow Drop down arrow and then View space details .
  4. In the window that opens, click Edit .
  5. Add a description.
    • Optional: Add a guideline.
  6. Click Save.

Update the space access level

After a space is created and the conversation evolves, Space Managers can update the space access from restricted to discoverable, or vice versa. To change the space access:
  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, select the space you want to update.
  3. At the top, next to the space name, click the Down arrow Drop down arrow and then View members "".
  4. In the pop-up window, under the space access section, click the Down arrow Drop down arrow next to the current access audience.
  5. Select from the audience options in the drop down menu:
    • To make a restricted space discoverable: Select the audience for your entire domain.
    • To make a discoverable space restricted: Select Restricted.

Tips:

  • Discoverable spaces are searchable, but not available via Browse.
  • Restricted spaces that you’re invited to are searchable.
  • Spaces you aren’t invited to and aren’t discoverable to you don’t appear in your search results.

Additional resources

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false
true
true
17
false
false