Stay on top of everything that's important with Gmail's new interface. Learn more about the new layout.

Block & report someone in chat

You can block chat messages from specific people in Gmail and Google Chat. People you block are excluded from other Google services.

When you block a person, you can still:

  • Open links or attachments in your conversation.
  • Unblock them.

After you block a person, you can’t:

  • Edit old messages in your conversation.
  • Hide your online status from them.
  • Hide that you blocked them.

You also can accept or ignore message requests from people you don’t know. Learn how to respond to a Google Chat message request.

You can block and report someone in Gmail or Google Chat.
Gmail
  1. On your computer, go to Gmail.
  2. Enter your Google Account email or phone number and password.
  3. On the left, point to the name of a person you want to block.
  4. Next to the name, click More options More and then Block & report "".
    • If the person is in your organization, this option shows as “Block.”
  5. Optional: If you only want to block someone, uncheck the box next to “Also report.”
  6. Click Block.

When you report someone, a copy of the last 50 messages of your conversation is sent to Google for review.

Google Chat
  1. On your computer, go to Google Chat.
  2. Enter your Google Account email or phone number and password.
  3. Select the name of a person you want to block.
  4. At the top, click the Down arrow Show search options.
  5. Click Block and report "".
    • If the person is in your organization, this option shows as “Block.”
  6. Optional: If you only want to block, uncheck the box next to “Report to Google.”
  7. Click Block.

When you report someone, a copy of the last 50 messages of your conversation is sent to Google for review.

You can also unblock someone you blocked in Gmail or Google Chat.
Unblock
  1. On your computer, go to Gmail.
  2. Enter your Google Account email or phone number and password.
  3. At the top, click Settings "" and then See all settings and then Chat and Meet and then Manage chat settings and then Manage accounts you have blocked.
  4. Select the name of a person you want to unblock.
  5. Click Unblock "".
In Maps, Photos, and other Google products, learn how to block or unblock people's accounts.
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
true
17
false
false