Use the removal delay feature to protect your products

To prevent the unintentional removal of products from your feed, turn on the removal delay feature within the product protection settings. This feature protects against data removal that may result from incomplete product data uploads. It also lets you receive notifications when your products are detected to be at risk of removal.

How it works

The product protection feature is triggered by a significant drop in the number of items in a particular feed. If such a drop is detected, Google will automatically create new items and update existing items based on the information from the affected feed. To prevent the accidental deletion of product data, Google will not remove the items that were missing in your feed from your account. If no action is taken, these missing items will remain active until their previous expiration date.

You’ll receive notification of this protection by email, as long as you’ve opted into email updates for feed notifications, including product data alerts. An alert will also appear in the Processing tab on the Feeds page indicating that the product protection has triggered and noting the number of products detected in the previous uploads.

If you didn’t intend to delete protected items from your feed, check the most recently uploaded feed for any errors, make any necessary corrections, and upload the feed again. Google will accept the updated feed, and will permanently remove all products from the feed that were not included in the upload following their expiration date. Any time an item is added via feed, it has a default expiration of 30 days. That expiration date is extended whenever the item is submitted again, but is never more than 30 days. Google will not remove protected items until after their expiration dates (up to 30 days).

If you did intend to remove protected items from your feed, you can override the feature in several ways:

  1. In the warning found on your feeds processing page, click Remove products.
  2. Disable the feature in your account settings and then re-upload or reprocess your feed.
  3. Manually upload your feed.

Any of these options will allow you to safely proceed with deletion of these products from your account.

Eligible feeds

The product protection feature is available for primary feeds, including product, local product, and local product inventory feeds, and for any file feed upload, including spreadsheets. This feature is not available for supplemental feeds, API, Automated Feeds, online product inventory updates, or local product inventory updates.

The feature is turned off by default, but you can turn it on or adjust the percentage drop threshold in your account settings.

Instructions

Adjust the product protection feature

  1. Sign in to your Merchant Center account
  2. Click on the tools icon
  3. Click Account settings.
  4. Click the Product protection menu and toggle “Start protection when this percentage of products would be removed."
  5. Set the percentage drop threshold that will trigger protection of your products.
  6. Click Save.
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?

Need more help?

Sign in for additional support options to quickly solve your issue